Does anyone have any other skills - such as carpentry?

I love real wood furniture, floors, worktops and have been thinking about learning!

Which got me thinking, anybody have any other skills-based interest? Perhaps you are a mean cook? Artist? Know your way around an engine? Electrics? Etc :smiley:

3 Likes

Uh, I love cooking, I’ve helped build multiple houses in my youth (my father had this obsession with building ever-bigger houses to live and we put in every tiny little nail and screw, dug the basements, etc
 last one was over 4000sq feet, for the internals, not garage or so, which was 3 car), really didn’t like being out in the sun or 100+F temps, lol. This included cabinets and all, I’m very good with planning and performing accurate measurements and assembly though.

I have a minor degree in electrical engineering that I’ve never used but used to do a lot of that stuff as a hobby when I was younger.

I love cooking, but hate the cleaning after, so I try to prefer single-pot meals, lol.

3 Likes

You are a man of many talents ODL! I would love to do an environmentally-friendly self-build
 maybe one day :nerd_face:

Get a dishwasher? :laughing:

2 Likes

I enjoy “cooking” as well, though my skills in regular household kitchens are rather limited.

My wife really likes my tomato sauce with ground meat (“Bolognese”) for pasta, but she doesn’t know the secret behind it :smiley: I regularly burn the meat and onions :smiley:

Much more than that, I like cooking on the open fire, or even baking “under” the open fire or otherwise dug/improvised ovens.

I haven’t done a good “iron-bread” (sour-dough in an iron kettle, burried in embers(?)) anymore for years, as my land lord doesn’t like the smell of smoke, nor would he like if we were digging holes in the shared garden :smiley:

4 Likes