What needs fixing in the digital sphere?

What do you think needs fixing in the digital / computer science sphere?

1 Like

IMAGES!!!

I hope one day photographs can be easily traced back to the source - helping prevent identify thieves from being able to take other people’s photos or media outlets using other people’s images without their consent, etc.

Perhaps the creators of Shazam have some thoughts!

2 Likes

Software languages as a whole. Being a developer this may sound strange to say because I obviously love building software, but. I have been doing this for 20 years and while I would like to say a lot has changed it really doesn’t seem like it. Just looking at the history of languages, the timeline of events feels as though we have made very little progress. The summary of the timeline seems as though it goes like this:

1. Lisp was created: What a HUGE breakthrough. It was a language with garbage collector, based on lambda calculus which basically meant that it had a 50 year history before it’s invention. And what’s the sad part… well lisp was and still is the only language that really follows the “code is data” tenet which pretty much makes it more like building material where you can change the language to meet your needs. This is lost in most languages, and certainly any language created by a vendor makes extension insanely hard.
  2. Smalltalk: Another big breakthrough for it’s time. OO was truly manifested as Alan Kay’s vision. And it was a completly interactive environment.
  3. C++: It was C with classes bases on the misunderstanding of what OO means when Alan Kay coined the term LOL. Now, pretty much every OO curly brace language has a strong influence from a language that uses a construct that was misunderstood.