Do you trust autonomous / self-driving vehicles?

Was surprised to hear that only now can they actually detect speed signs and green lights :scream: :joy:

Which got me thinking, do you trust autonomous vehicles? Would you be happy for them to share the roads with you?

As a pedestrian (someone who doesn’t drive) would you be happy for them to be on our roads in any kind of self-driving mode enabled?

• Yes
  • No
  • N/A (I’m a driver!)

0 voters

As a driver of a non-autonomous vehicle would you be happy for them to be on our roads in any kind of self-driving mode enabled?

• Yes
  • No

0 voters

Would you buy one or use one if you could afford one?

• Yes
  • No

0 voters

1 Like

I voted no :see_no_evil:

I think we need more stats, studies and trials - I think I might feel more comfortable if accidents of autonomous vehicles were proven to be below accidents by vehicles with human drivers in control. However, ideally, the margin of error should be zero imo.

2 Likes

Definitely agree we need more studies, but I voted as a driver that I’d be fine with them. IDK about Teslas, but back in Apr I bought a 2020 Toyota RAV4 that has some light automation:

1. It can identify speed limit signs (but not stoplights) and some other road signs.
  2. It also has adaptive cruise control with lane detection, meaning if I set my cruise, it’ll stay in the current lane by itself (including steering around curves) and slow down/speed up when necessary due to the vehicle ahead.
    a. It doesn’t change speed when it detects a new speed limit, although that’d be rad!

As I see it, the trick is having a human behind the wheel to respond when necessary. I use those functions and adore them, but I don’t trust them. I always have my hands on the wheel and hover my foot over the brake, because I think that’s part of being a defensive driver and a responsible citizen on the road.

2 Likes