Which CSS framework do you use?

Inspired by @dbernheisel’s post here, which CSS framework do you use and why?

5 Likes

I started with the Surface CSS library but have significantly modified almost every part of it. I like being able to do a lot of the ‘pretty’ things that most people use javascript for but without even a tiny shred of javascript at all for it.

5 Likes

I have been using tailwindcss for a while now and really enjoying it.

8 Likes

For our internal apps I’ve been using Uikit for a few years. It is well maintained, nice documentation, easy to use, and looks good.

It took a bit to work out how to make some of the features integrate with Phoenix Liveview but after figuring out what needed to go into hooks it works like a charm.

5 Likes

New bootstrap 5 alpha is out, dropping finally jquery :slight_smile:

I have tried many, materializecss, semantic-ui, tailwindcss… but use bs for bigger project.

It also have a set of icons (bootstrap-icons)

You can try it now Bootstrap 5 alpha! | Bootstrap Blog but it is still alpha.

Surface CSS looks really nice, and light… didn’t knew about it.

5 Likes

Bootsraap is my main css framework but I use sometimes MaterializeCss also.

To be honest I hate doing css so the more a css framework can offer out of the box, the more I will like it. It has to be easy of use also of course. :sweat_smile:

5 Likes

Nobody using Foundation? I’ve used it a few times and haven’t seen the need to switch as of yet…

4 Likes

It was mostly an experiment by someone to do the usual things people use Javascript for except entirely in fast CSS like popup menu’s, accordions, etc… etc… but they didn’t really finish it. I basically finished and expanded it for the uses I needed it for, and made an Elixir module that generates the right HTML markup to let it all work. :slight_smile:

5 Likes

The surface CSS website tells it was an experiment, no longer maintained :slight_smile:

I do the same, with a set of helpers for HTML generation.