Spotlight: Sean Moriarity (Author) Interview and AMA!

SeanMoriarity

Author Spotlight:
Sean Moriarity (@seanmor5)

Machine learning sounds both magical and difficult, but with the right tools and the right language, it’s both available to and achievable for developers. We talked with Sean Moriarity, author of Machine Learning in Elixir, about how Elixir and the Nx library make machine learning approachable – and performant!

This is also an AMA. Everyone commenting or asking a question will automatically be entered into our drawing to win a copy of Machine Learning in Elixir!

3 Likes

Please introduce yourself.

Hi, my name is Sean Moriarity. I am the author of Genetic Algorithms in Elixir. I’m originally from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. I’m a huge Philly sports fan—fan of sports in general. And I’m a programmer. I’m a big fan of Elixir and functional programming, machine learning, a lot of other things.

What is the journey that took you into the world of Elixir and the larger world of Nx and other Elixir-related libraries?

It’s funny.

Actually, I tell this story a lot now. Originally when I was in school, we were learning Scala, which is a half-functional language. I think it’s called object-functional. I got pretty interested in functional programming and how to do things functionally over object-oriented approaches. I was looking for something new to learn because I didn’t necessarily love Scala. I thought it was decent, but I didn’t love it. I was on Quora one day, and I saw someone ask the question, “What is the best language for building websites or doing backend development?” Someone said Elixir, and they did a really good job of basically selling me on the language. I got really into Elixir from that. That was probably around five or six years ago when that happened.