Spotlight: Lauren Maffeo (Author) Interview and AMA!

7731a4266518737fb50f637fcfc94d621a92be85_2_502x600

Author Spotlight:
Lauren Maffeo (@lmaffeo)

Businesses own more data than ever before, but it’s of no value if you don’t know how to use it. Data governance manages the people, processes, and strategy needed for deploying data projects to production. But doing it well is far from easy: Less than one fourth of business leaders say their organizations are data driven. We talked with Lauren Maffeo, author of Designing Data Governance from the Ground Up, about data governance, data life cycle management, and data ethics, among other topics. You’ll be surprised and informed by our conversation.

This is also an AMA. Everyone commenting or asking a question will automatically be entered into our draw to win a copy of Lauren’s ebook!

3 Likes

Hi Lauren! Please introduce yourself.

Hi, my name’s Lauren Maffeo. I am a service designer at Steampunk, which is a human-centered design firm based in the Washington, DC, area serving the federal government. My specialty is designing digital products and services for federal government agencies. I just wrote a book called Designing Data Governance from the Ground Up. It’s a 100-page, six-step guide to building a data-driven culture in your organization to help you automate your data governance standards into your production pipeline.

What is data governance, and what does it mean to use data governance in an organization?

When I talk about data governance, I’m really talking about the combination of people, processes, and tools used to help organizations manage data at scale and with quality.

Quality is a nebulous word, kind of like data governance is a nebulous topic.