Spotlight: Bruce Tate (Author) Interview and AMA!

bruce-tate-devtalk-spotlight

Author Spotlight:
Bruce Tate (@redrapids)

Programming languages always emerge out of need, and if that’s not always true, they’re definitely adopted out of need. We talked with Bruce Tate, co-author of Programming Phoenix LiveView, about how technologies find their right time and place and then showcase their abilities like a flower suddenly blooming into view.

This is also an AMA. Everyone commenting or asking a question will automatically be entered into our drawing to win a copy of Programming Phoenix LiveView!

1 Like

Hi, please introduce yourself.

Hi, my name is Bruce Tate, and I am an author and a serial entrepreneur. Right now, at Groxio I’m building coursework and we’re focusing on teaching the Elixir language.

I’ve written many books. When I have a consultancy or when I have a business, rather than trying to compromise on my product price, what I’ve always done when I have extra time - I write.

It’s something that I really like to do, and it’s something that has served me well in the past. I have, gosh, I’ve never really counted, maybe 10 to 15 books out, and then a few more with my name as an editor, and then a few more that have been published around the Groxio platform, so, yes, I write a lot.

Let’s start with an overview about where languages are. What are your thoughts about language, design, current trends, and learning?

I think it’s all related. We just came out of this period where the whole industry was focused on one language or a series of languages, primarily Java and the counterparts for Microsoft, the C# counterpart. I’ve always believed that in such periods, different types of innovations happen and different types of curiosity happen.