Programming Machine Learning: P.Perrotta

Title: Programming ML (page 200) - installing keras 2.3.1 doesn’t install TensorFlow, as the book suggests.

Thank you for the heads up, jert47! These libraries evolve at a steady pace. It will take a while to update the book, even the downloadable version–but I’ll update the setup instructions on progml.com soon.
Thank you again!

Hi, Paolo!

I solved this little problem by installing TF manually, version 2.7.0, which uninstalled Keras 2.3.1 and installed Keras 2.7.0.

As one might expect, it was just a minor inconvenience.

Otherwise, I must say that your book is amazing and your pedagogical talent is outstanding.

I’m a retired system programmer with a long history in telecom industry. So, all that ML hype did not even started during my active years. I made several attempts to conquer ML, but to no avail. You made it possible. Thank you.

Jerry T, Sweden
Carpe diem!!!

1 Like

Good to hear that the issue can be fixed easily, Jerry… and great to hear that you’re grokking machine learning! I have a similar experience: ML was quite far away from my daily experience for most of my career, and I’m not in my prime now… so it was a struggle for me to gather the resolve to study this stuff. Now I’m very glad that I put in the effort!

Hi again, Paolo!

Now I’m finished with “ML Programming”. And I’m still overwhelmed. Your book really explained to me what ML is (and what it’s not).
Your ability to formulate those advanced ideas in plain english is fantastic! And, I can only imagine the huge amount of work you
had to invest in the incredibly well-designed examples. This was the best book on any technical subject ever! And have red a few.

I am a little undecided where to go next on this amazing field. So, I can only wish you will write more on something I would consider

as exciting. ML on LEGO, perhaps? Now, with LEGO Robot Inventor and Raspberry Pi Build HAT …

Thank you and take care, for now.

Jerry Trymander, Sweden