Learning Elixir Phoenix and Ash

Any recommendations on good resources for learning Elixir, Phoenix, and Ash?

4 Likes

Hey, man! I’m studying Elixir in Grox.io (https://grox.io). I think it’s helping me a lot since I have no background in programming.

2 Likes

I have gone through/am going through this. To be honest, it isn’t easy. The Ash documentation can be a bit spotty, although the Phoenix integration stuff is pretty good.

One thing I found helpful (if a bit intimidating) is the source for the AshHQ site. Reading it is eye opening, because it illustrates how the creators intended things to be used.

I keep thinking we need a book on the subject, but things are changing so quickly it would be difficult… :frowning:

5 Likes

Ash 3.0 will mark a significant shift towards DX and documentation :slight_smile: We’re going to be reexamining the onboarding, documentation, all kinds of things. We have a lot in the works on this front, just a small bit of work left to do to finalize the feature-set of 3.0, then we can refocus.

5 Likes

Thank You for the work on Ash… definitively something I need to use more

2 Likes

Thanks for the reply, @zachdaniel I really appreciate all your work and I think Ash is really cool.
If I may be so bold, I think part of the struggle is that the descriptions of Ash and its features feel super abstract, so it’s kind of hard to even try to describe it in terms that are easy to relate to. I recommend trying to give more concrete examples of some practical use-cases.