I want to learn how make a game, but where should I start?

I’m able to do the “artistic” part of game-development; character designing/modeling, music, environment modeling, etc.

However, I don’t have experience in programming. I don’t know what language should I learn first.
Also, many people on the internet have said that you need to be good at math and physics before learning to code… well, I’m terrible with math.
Is it true? Why do I have to learn those before programming? How far can I go without understanding math and physics? And what kind of math do I have to be knowledgeable at?

1 Like

Wow, such an awesome skill to have. Not everyone who codes can do the ‘design’ part of games, IMHO.

1 Like

It depends on what style of game you want to create. Depending on that, you can choose an already existing engine, where you can already get quite far without big coding knowledge.

Maybe have a look at this one: https://godotengine.org/

I’ve done it the hard way when I was a student and created my own small 3d engine, for such a thing you’d need basic knowledge of Trigonometry, but you don’t need to be “good at math”, I’m not either :wink:

1 Like

I agree, I don’t think you really need to be good at math and physics, unless maybe you are creating your own game engine.

1 Like

Maybe Unity and C#?

1 Like

I tried Unity and C# a couple of years ago as a hobby, and I enjoyed it. You can find some good Udemy courses.

1 Like

You might try Three JS, to load assets and learn with it… you find physics engine as well

1 Like

Start by learning the basics of game development through online courses or tutorials. Familiarize yourself with game engines like Unity or Unreal Engine, and explore fundamental concepts in programming and game design. Practice by creating small projects to build your skills gradually.

1 Like