Has learning a functional language changed the way you use or think about OOP languages?

Yes? No? If yes, how/in what way?

5 Likes

Yes, now I see no difference between closure and object :wink:

4 Likes

I’ve been a Java web programmer for ~20 years and learning about functional languages (first Scala, then Clojure, then Elixir) has definitely changed my approach over the years.

Granted, it’s still Java so getting away from mutable values can feel like swimming against the current. Most of the libraries I use (e.g., DB access, JSP) assume the JavaBean spec (getters and setters) so it’s easier to go with flow at those boundaries. :relaxed:

Aside from that, I try my best to write most of my code as pure functions, which to my eyes offers code clarity and ease of unit testing. These days, my Java is less OOP and more structs and functions.

The introduction of streams (think enumerables) and lambdas in Java 8 was really exciting for me thanks to my exposure to functional languages. Helping my colleagues at work understand the benefits and rationale was challenging but the eventual ah ha moments were very rewarding.

4 Likes

Absolutely. Ultimately both OOP and FP can get great work done, but I’ve found that a functional style helps clarify my thinking. Separating the data structures from the functions brings a tremendous clarity to my designs.

These days, I actually use classes for dependency injection containers - the meat of the program still tends to be highly functional.

6 Likes

My biggest takeaways while learning and now preferring FP that have changed my perspective on OOP languages is the following (some of them are not good):

1. Quarantine side effects. This has help a lot with reducing bugs and making unit testing easier since it means that my pure functions aren’t intermingled with all of the effectful code.