Const all the things?

const all the things?
Last week someone posted a /r/cpp thread titled
“Declaring all variables local to a function as const”:

Ok, so I’m an old-school C++ programmer using the language now since the early ’90s.
I’m a fan of const-correctness for function and member declarations, parameters, and
the like. Where, I believe, it actually matters.

Now we have a team member who has jumped on the “everything is const” bandwagon.
Every code review includes dozens of lines of local function variables now declared
const that litter the review.

Intellectually, I understand the (what I consider mostly insignificant) arguments
in favor of this practice, but in nearly 30 years I have never had a bug introduced
into my code because a local function variable was mutable when I didn’t expect it.
It does nothing for me to aid in code analysis or tracking. It has at most a tiny
impact on performance.

Maybe I’m just an old dog finally unable to learn a new trick. So, on this fine
Wednesday, who’s up for a religious war? What are y’all doing?

TLDR: I’m not putting const on all the things, either.

Read in full here:

This thread was posted by one of our members via one of our news source trackers.

1 Like

Corresponding tweet for this thread:

Share link for this tweet.

1 Like

This function is wrong. How do I know? It passes by const value.

True, this is why rust has a few more validations than just const, there is, of course, const, but there is also static, single-referenced, and multi-referenced, which does it correctly, unlike C++.