Spotlight: Erin Dees (Author) Interview and AMA!

erin-dees-spotlight

Author Spotlight:
Erin Dees (@undees)

Welcome to our new author spotlight! We had the pleasure of chatting with Erin Dees, co-author of several PragProg titles including Effective Testing with RSpec 3. This book helps you solve your testing problems by building and maintaining quality software with RSpec—the popular BDD-flavored Ruby testing framework. This definitive guide from RSpec’s lead developer shows you how to use RSpec to drive more maintainable designs, specify and document expected behavior, and prevent regressions during refactoring.

This is also an AMA. Everyone commenting or asking a question will automatically be entered into our draw to win a copy of Erin’s book!

3 Likes

Please introduce yourself.

My name is Erin Dees. I have written or cowritten five books for The Pragmatic Programmers, including most recently Effective Testing with RSpec 3, cowritten with Myron Marston. I am an engineer by day. My duties now also include managerial duties. That’s been a fun, exciting transition. It’s been cool to have books from The Pragmatic Programmers ready to help me make that transition as well.

I’m a mother of three. Two of my kids are grown up; the other is fourteen. We live in Toronto, Ontario, and I’m working for an insurance tech startup up here. It’s a lot of fun—my first time working at a startup in its early days. It’s pretty exciting.

In my spare time, I play guitar, which I’ve done for years. I picked up bass guitar as a quarantine hobby and really love it. I’m an avid cook. I’m also a race walker: a modified form of running where you have to keep one foot on the ground at all times and land with a straightened leg. I’ve been doing that since about 2009. And at one point, I was simultaneously certified as an athlete, a coach, and an official for USA Track & Field. I also love board games, tabletop role-playing games, and video games.