Spotlight: Dmitry Zinoviev (Author) Interview and AMA!

Author Spotlight:
Dmitry Zinoviev (@aqsaqal)

Today we’re putting our spotlight on Dmitry Zinoviev, author of Data Science Essentials in Python, Pythonic Programming, Complex Network Analysis in Python, and Resourceful Code Reuse. Pragmatic sat down and talked with Professor Zinoviev about everything Python.

This is also an AMA. Everyone commenting or asking a question will automatically be entered into our draw to win one of his books!

Without further ado…

4 Likes

Hello Dmitry! Please introduce yourself.

I am a professor of Computer Science, full professor. I work at Suffolk University in Boston, Massachusetts, which people often confuse with Suffolk University in England. But this is New England; this is not Old England. I teach computer science, mostly, but also a science course and sometimes mathematics. I’ve been here for twenty-one years. This is my twenty-second year.

I have a PhD in computer science from Stony Brook University on Long Island, and I have a master’s degree in physics from Moscow State University in Moscow, Russia—at that time, the USSR. That’s pretty much the summary of what I am.

I’ve published four books with Pragmatic, and I just signed a contract for the fifth one. The first book is Data Science Essentials in Python. The second was about networks and network analysis, in Python as well. The third one was in the Pragmatic Express Series. In fact, I believe it was the second book in that series. I was pretty much like a guinea pig. And it was about code reuse in C and in Python as well. And the fourth one was Pythonic Programming: Tips for Becoming an Idiomatic Python Programmer, which was essentially writing idiomatic Python code. The fifth one, which has not been written yet, is gonna be about simulation and modeling in Python and NetLogo.

I sense a theme here. So tell me about Python, and tell me about the language. And tell me about why it resonates so well with you.