Similarities and differences - for senior (age/experience) devs

Hello Fellow developers,

I have been trying to wrap my head around How difficult would it have been to be a dev 20-30 years ago?

I have a few questions aimed for people two generations (30ish years) above me , say in their 50s and still coding (hobby or profession).

1. What were pain points to becoming a dev when you were 20? Most painful two.

2. What are disadvantages that present generation (kids in 20s ) faces compared to 20 years ago?

Any anecdotes or examples are preferred for better understanding as it allows “me in your shoes” :stuck_out_tongue:

5 Likes

Corresponding tweet for this thread:

Share link for this tweet.

2 Likes

Hmmm, it’s actually hard for me to think about
 I started programming in an assembly add-in cartridge on a Commodore Vic20, the reference manual was a goldmine of info (that’s something that is sorely lacking in many languages nowadays), eventually went to an IBM 8088 (still have both these machines in my closet) with basic and so forth (the old ones, literally ‘basic’ and advanced basic, this was long before things even like quickbasic) but quickly got various borland tools like turbo pascel and turbo C, I mostly did C until I got a borland C++ compiler, then eventually some ancient visual studio for C++ and was just C++ for a long long time, eventually dabbled in other languages when the Internet came to exist for the public (this was about 2003-2004) and figured out I could learn interesting things from them that helped in my C++ work, so I tried to consume and learn as many as I could, eventually going to my current tactic of trying to “Get Good” with at least 3 languages a year that I still do to this day.