Novice developer hoping to learn Elixir - any tips?

Hello Folks,

I am a novice developer from India. Intending to learn Elixir and web apps (phoenix framework).

What are things that I MUST know ? and If there are some awesome-lists , it’d be of great use.

I hope this thread would serve as a good archive of broad concepts for job market.

4 Likes

Corresponding tweet for this thread:

Share link for this tweet.

2 Likes

As a really quick way of jumping into Elixir is to watch Alchemist Camp channel on youtube in conjunction with going through the official tutorial which is freaking on point.

3 Likes

I learned Elixir from the official docs and getting my hands dirty with a project at work. One tip I can give you is that don’t get overwhelmed when you see people talking about OTP. You can learn the language and solve problems with ut without getting to know much in that department and by the time you really need it, you will have all know how and motivation for it.

I don’t know what prior experience you have with programming but things might feel a little slow with all the pattern matching, pipes and new way of thinking- give it time and you’ll love it eventually.

If you can grab the book “Elixir in Action” that would be awesome, it is one of the most enjoyable programming books I’ve read. ElixirSchool is awesome too. But really the official docs alone could be a great friend.

I have some free time from September 14th, so if you want we can set up a pair programming session or two? You can even open a thread on your Elixir learning journey and post any questions you might feel and we can join in and learn together. I am sure someone had done it here and that was a pretty informative thread.

Congratulations for deciding to learn Elixir. It has been the most rewarding learning and using experience for me and I am sure for a lot like me. Just let me know if you need any assistance :slight_smile:

6 Likes